Sewing her way to success: Patricia’s story of hope

My name is Patricia Moyo and I would like to share the story of how the sewing skills I learned at the Evangeline life skills course has changed my life and helped me to support my family.

I moved to Masiphumelele from Malawi in 2018 with my husband. He is a pastor wanting to preach the word of God to Malawian people living in this country. It was difficult to adjust and sustain our life here so I started looking for opportunities that would help me to support our family. A friend of mine shared with me that she had attended a free six-month sewing course run by Evangeline and Masicorp. My prayers were answered because not only would I learn the skills to sustain myself, I wouldn’t have to pay for it. 

I joined the course in January of 2019. At first, it was difficult because I didn’t know how to use a sewing machine. I was so nervous! Over time I slowly learned how to make a bag, then later a dress. Not only did we learn sewing, but we were also given the opportunity to be taught Basic English and Computer skills. I successfully graduated in July this year and I knew that I wanted to continue learning more about sewing. After finishing the course the graduates are invited to study further at The Sewing Cafe where we are taught more advanced sewing techniques. It is here at the Sewing Cafe that I make dresses, bags and couch covers which I sell and support my family. 

Last month my daughter called me telling me that she cannot continue with school because she could not afford to pay for her college fees. I was so worried about her but decided to find an opportunity to design and make something to sell so that I could help her.

I started designing and making bags, then exported them to Malawi to a friend of mine who sold them on my behalf. I was so happy when he called to tell me that people loved the bags I had made! They had completely sold out and we had made a profit. It was the proudest moment of my life to know that I had made enough money to fund my daughter’s education so that she could go back to school. 

I now spend my time designing dresses, bags and couch covers so that I can provide for my family. I am grateful for the skill I have learned through this course and the wonderful people that invested and believed in me. I know that these opportunities would not have happened without the Evangeline life skills course and Masicorp – they completely changed my life. They have given me another chance in life and have secured a future for my daughter who can now go to school without a worry.  

I would like to encourage everybody to support the work that Evangeline and Masicorp are doing. They are making such a difference to so many people like me and giving them the wings they need to succeed. Every year 48 women (and men) are trained through this course, also receiving their very own sewing machine. If you would like to support the course you can contact Masicorp (contact@masicorp.org) or make a donation towards the programme here.